It’s been interesting how opinionated my friends are about my choices in how to deal with my bulged disc. I appreciate the care and concern, and I listen to everyone’s input.

Now that the acupuncture month is over (it did a lot of good, but I can’t justify $1000 every month until this is over, since I have no idea when that will be), I am looking for other means of coping.

I’m convinced that time is what is needed, but I also know that if I don’t “do” something, it will make me crazy.

To that end, I e-mailed the Volunteer Health Clinic to ask them about alternatives. I explained that it’s been 2 months since I visited, and that I wasn’t trying to be ungrateful, but that given my emotional/chemical make-up (which I know better than anyone else), their original suggestion of a corticosteroid was likely going to do me as much harm as good. We’ll see if they respond.

Additionally, when I was up in the wee hours researching how to sleep with sciatica, I came across this.

1-12This morning, I did these for the first time. I had to modify and/or just skip a few things. This is totally against my “push through it to do it” philosophy, but I know I’m dealing with that is tantamount to an injury here, so I only did what didn’t make me want to cry.

For instance, the second one? I can’t do that with my left leg AT ALL. Basically, I can’t straighten both my left leg and my back if they are to be at a 90-degree angle with one another.

Also, I could do the cow, but arching my back to the “cat” position was a definite “run away!”

The wide-leg dog is doable if I give myself permission to bend my knees quite a bit. The full out downward-facing dog is impossible right now.

The warrior stretches felt great. I am really excited about them. Same with the pigeon, cowface, and cobbler.

I was kind of happy about the locust, because when I first started going to the chiropractor in January, she asked me to try Supermans, and I could NOT do them. I could not lift my left leg off of the ground when I was on my stomach AT ALL. But today, after I did the locusts, I tried the Superman and was able to do it. For a few moments.

I also sweat a LOT.

Getting down and up was a chore, but only when I was lying on my back. There is a certain finesse to that, a “lie on the side then roll onto back” thing initially, then “roll to the side” before trying to get up. Oh, and my head has to be on the ground for that. If I try rolling to the side with my head elevated, pain shoots down my leg in a most excruciating manner. So I will avoid that.

The fish twist felt good, but when I did my right leg, I had to just curl my left leg toward my back, similar to the mermaid position. Like I said: I can’t straighten it.

I’m going to try to do these every morning and every evening and see if it helps strengthen anything. I’m also trying to remember to “crunch” my abs when I stand up just to strengthen those and take some pressure off of my back. I’ve been unable to do sit-ups of any kind for months, and that’s ironic because it would really help the healing if I could re-muscle those.

Last night, I went to bed at 11 PM and woke up this morning at about 5:30. I lay in bed until 6ish and got up. This is so much less discouraging to me than going to bed at 10 and waking up at 4. I’m not sure why, but it is. So I’m going to try to stay awake like I used to, even though my body is screaming at me by about 9 o’clock on a typical day.

I’ll keep you all updated. 🙂

 

