Here’s the official version:

___________________________________

Hello Friends and Family,

This June, I will be on a team with New City Church heading to Haiti.  We’re partnering with Help One Now and local Haitian leaders to love and serve the people of Haiti.

As most of you know, Haiti suffered a severe earthquake in January of 2010.  Haiti is considered a 4th world country, or what’s called a “least developed country.”  Extreme poverty has created a massive orphan crisis.  The sex-trafficking industry is exploding, hunger and disease runs rampant and many people are suffering!  However, there’s also much hope and God is moving in Haiti through local Haitian churches and leaders.  We want to come along side of these brave men and women and help serve Haiti together.  We want to co-partner in the work God is already doing!

Part of Help One Now’s mission is to build 100 homes and drill 25 water wells.  On this trip, we will actually help fulfill part of this vision.  Every team member has to raise an additional $500 that goes towards a key project, which will help our Haitian friends long-term.  It will also help create jobs for our Haitian friends.  So by going to Haiti, we will help a family move into a new home or help a community receive clean water, and we will also create jobs in the process. Our ultimate goal is to help restore Haiti while Haitians lead the way!

Here’s where we need your help:

1. We need you to pray for us.

2. We need your help financially.  The trip cost is $2100, which includes $500 for the project.

Would you be willing be to support me financially? If so, you can go here and donate.  You will get an automatic receipt emailed to you as soon as you donate.

Or, you can send a check made out to: Help One Now – in the memo please put Laura Hattaway and “Haiti June Trip”.   Help One Now will send you a receipt for your end of the year taxes, via mail.

Help One Now
PO Box 26716
Raleigh, NC 27611

To learn more about Help One Now, please visit their site: Help One Now

To learn more about New City Church please visit their site: New City Church

If you have any questions, please let me know.

___________________________________

Here’s my personal version:

We’re going to Haiti to meet orphans, to experience their culture, and to help build a house for someone who needs it.

My heart has been for short-term missions for years, but there was never a window of opportunity I was able to take until now. It would bless me incredibly to be able to take part in this thing, and I consider it an honor to be able to do anything at all for the people of Haiti.

I said I’d go on this trip knowing that there’s no way I can afford it. I firmly believe that if I’m supposed to go, the funds will show up. If you can help me, in any way, I’ll be extremely grateful.

And you really can ask me any questions you might have! 🙂 Thanks!

Laura

