spamalot-wallpaper-grailYesterday, James, Daphne, and I drove down to San Antonio to see Monty Python’s Spamalot.

It’s pretty much what you’d expect, but it was fun to see how they keep the silliness relevant, including a reference to a recently-popular Korean dance song (no more details because I don’t want to spoil it for anyone who has yet to see it).

I’m wondering, too, how long Eponine has been in the show, since that musical has been around a lot longer than Spamalot. Anyone?

One of the highlights of the show for me was actually the Playbill and the extremely thorough liner notes for the barely-existent Finland musical.

MajesticTheatreI MajestictheaterOh, also… for a moment, allow me to say that the Majestic Theater is gorgeous. It’s such an interesting venue, and the seats are practically stacked, so except for when the kid in front of Daphne was leaning way forward, none of us had a view obscured by much next-row-hair.

Also, the seats were rather firm, which is definitely a recommendation from someone with sciatica who has just spent an hour and a half sitting in the car.

The only complaint I have is that the sound system was focused somewhere slightly lower than we were seated, so I lost some of the lyrics in the volume. I’m someone who desperately needs to understand the words.

Speaking of the words. To borrow some from Al Yankovic: “I’ve memorized ‘Holy Grail’ really well; I can recite right now and have you ROTFLOL.”

Guess what, fellow geeks/nerds/dorks? Most of us have.

And, you know what? When you engage in a self-appointed quote-along, you know for whom that is fun? You. ONLY you. We’re not impressed by your thorough knowledge of clever (and notoriously memorable) scripting that you did not write.

When I paid for our tickets, and you might not believe this, but when I paid for tickets to the show, when I spent money on food and gas to drive to another town to see a show, I actually was not laying out my time and cash to hear another audience member amuse herself by creating a stereo effect behind my head. Or over there in the corner.

Riding a coconut “horse” up the stairs during intermission? Acceptable.

Talking during the show? Not okay. Have some respect for the rest of us.

As an actor, I wonder if it’s fun or a lot of pressure to deliver lines that most of your audience knows. Most of the performers delivered the lines in pretty much the same cadence and even with the same “voices” as in the movie.

I adored that the French guard made the taunting his own by blowing raspberries along the outline of the top of the castle. It was  a great physical bit.

A final observation: The women in the show aren’t funny. They’re stage dressing. Even the Lady of the Lake, who has the only substantial, non-company female role, was only amusing as she was being a diva. And making fun of female pop singers’ butchering of songs with their obnoxious riffs.

Pretty much every character in the show is stupid, so it’s no big insult, I suppose, that the women don’t get to act like idiots. I’d almost rather not have had women in it at all, though. But maybe women are like Jews: you can’t do a Broadway show without them. (Do we scantily clad the Jews, though? I’m guessing only if they’re women.)

I did really enjoy the performance. There were a few surprises that tickled me, and then beyond that, it was what I’d imagined, which is silly fun. Pretty much signature Monty Python.

