right_whatwedo This picture is from the Tigerlily website, and I’m trying to decide whether or not to be offended because in every picture I see of people having acupuncture, they’re beautiful women who aren’t wearing clothes. I have not been asked to disrobe, nor have I turned into a commercial model yet, but we can hope, right?

I went back on Saturday morning, when I was treated by the wife of the gentleman who’d done my first two treatments. She had a very different approach than he did. She reminded me very much of my favorite college professor, musical theater instructor Amy Herzberg. She asked me a lot of personal (female-related) questions that her husband had not. (The acupuncture practitioner, not Amy… though she pried into my life a lot, too, to get a good performance.) She also was more aggressive in her positioning of the needles. She did not do any facial or head points, but went down the outside of both of my arms. When she’d hit on a particularly painful spot, she’d say, “That was a big one!” almost before my body had had a chance to register that, “Yeow! That smarts!” I wonder how she did it, but, as I’ve mentioned, I am not too curious about the “how” as long as we get results.

I had to replenish two of the three supplements on Saturday, and it was the better part of $100. Gosh, how I hope this works.

Monday, it was back to the scalp, and with more points on my feet this time.

By the time I went in on Monday, when he asked me what my pain level was now as opposed to when I started, I told him it was 7.5-8 compared to 10.

The thing is, Monday and Tuesday after my first visit, my body reacted quickly and noticeably. Wednesday night, I almost cried when I was at dinner with my small group and was able to sit and then stand over and over again with almost no “transitional” pain.

Then, it was like my body got used to the new input, absorbed it, and kind of went back to business as usual. I awake once a night and find it difficult to position myself in such a way that resumed sleep comes easily. It hasn’t been frustrating enough to make me cry yet, though, so that is an improvement.

Also, right now, I’m at McDonald’s working, and I’m sitting in a cushioned bench. I keep getting up and down, and am only mildly sore. There’s not a catch, stop, and then deliberate limp/walk to move out of the pain and into “normal.”

So, intermittent pain relief is still better than unremitting pain, but I have an “all or nothing” tendency to want it to be better, or to be discouraged that I’m going to hurt until I’m dead and never be able to jump or do a backbend or sprint across the street again.

Which just means I need more therapy than just of the physical sort, right?

