Two great tastes that taste great together, right?

I can’t be the only one who thinks that might be possible? Am I?

Okay, here’s how the stream of consciousness goes:

1) H-E-B had an in-store coupon for buy two/get one free of different candies.
2) Having these things is danger in my house, so I decided to try to use one in a recipe. And I love cookies. So I found this recipe on the Hershey’s site. Looks yummy, right?
3) I start getting stuff out of the refrigerator to get all room-temperature-y, and, lo, I behold an avocado.
4) I’ve baked with them before and verify here that I can replace half of the fat in a recipe with avocado. Oh, and the cookies will be softer than with other fats? Hello! I’m there!

Now you’re cookin’ with… avocado.

Unfortunately, as I start to make this, I realize that I only have about 2/3 of the peanut butter I need. Oh well. I used mayo to make up for the rest of it. Don’t judge me. Anyway, if you’re going by the recipe to which I linked up there, I followed it except that I replaced the butter with avocado (1/2 cup) and I used 2/3 of 1/2 of a cup of peanut butter and 1/3 of 1/2 of a cup of mayonnaise. I’m sure there’s an easier, or more precise, way to put that, but I was a theater major. So sue me.

The fats-only mixture resembled baby food just a bit.

The final dough looked very tasty, though!

 

Here they are, ready to go into my tiny RV oven. When they were done… well, you have to see the miraculous transformation. You almost wouldn’t believe it’s even the same batch of cookies. They were like butterflies from caterpillars!

 

Umm. Right. No change except that they dried out and browned a bit. They didn’t spread. At all. But you know how we can fix that?

 

Pink cup smash!

Daphne was horrified and wanted me to save one round cookie for her, but I didn’t. It’s the principle of the thing. They’re cookies, not giant malt balls. Mmm… giant malt balls.


Anyhoo, we ended up with a big old plate of delicious-looking (and smelling) peanut butter avocado candy cookies. But I’m such a good mother, I didnt’ let Daphne have any this late. We’re saving them for breakfast.

 

 

