One of the things I love about Allrecipes (and, actually, I believe Google has this function now, too) is that you can type in ingredients you have and want to use and find a recipe that has those things in it.

Today, I had some red bananas left over from the nanner puddin incident, and I also had some sour cream I wanted to use. So I searched for and found this well-received recipe for sour cream banana bread.

But you know me; it’s difficult for me to stick with a recipe. Plus, I was making some for a friend who cannot have sodium, so that eliminated the salt and baking soda. Also, I just don’t typically enjoy nuts in my breads/sweets at all.

Sometimes, my recipe toying is a fail. Other times…

How DID she leaven that?!

Here is my modified recipe, halved on the site because I had no need to make 32 servings of this stuff, even giving some of it away.

  • 2 tablespoons white sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 cup non-dairy whipped topping
  • 1-1/2 cups white sugar
  • 1-1/2 eggs (1 whole egg and 1 egg white)
  • 3 very ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1/2 (16 ounce) container sour cream
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 2-1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup cocoa nibs

The first step makes it all crunchy on the outside!

First, spray the baking pans (as you can see, I did muffins and a loaf) with cooking spray, then dust with a mixture of the sugar and cinnamon. I ended up having to use MORE cinnamon and sugar for the tops of the bread. This isn’t a step included in the original recipe, but I figured that if having that sweet crunch around the bottom and sides of the bread would be good… hello? More=better?

Next, I mushed the bananas in the mixer and added the eggs, sugar, whipped topping, sour cream, vanilla, cinnamon, flour, and finally, cocoa nibs. If you’re newish to cooking, you don’t want to mix up anything too violently after you’ve put the flour in or it activates the gluten and you’ll end up with a super chewy (and not in a good way), gluey finished product.

You can’t just omit baking soda and expect your baked goods to turn out “right,” but in this case, I figured that the egg proteins would leaven the bread enough for my purposes. Besides, a little density in banana bread isn’t a bad thing. The texture turned out great.

These bake at 350 degrees until they’re done. It’s different for muffins and loaves, and your oven is a lot different than my propane box, so just keep an eye on them and when the tops start to crack and the middle is only mildly puddin-y (it WILL keep cooking after you’re finished, as long as you let it sit for a while), you’re done.

Lest you expect this to be like a chocolate-chip banana bread, understand that cocoa nibs are not what you think of when you think “chocolate.” They’re not sweet. They’re a lot like chopped up coffee beans, but their fat content is higher, and they add a nutty flavor to the bread without adding sodium. (Yeah, I know they make unsalted nuts, but why on earth would anyone buy those?!)

Daphne thinks the nibs are “a bit much,” but that’s because they DO have a rather intense and distinctive flavor. I think it’s a perfect balance to the sweetness of the banana. Try it and let me know what you think!

