Many of you know me personally, but some newbies stumbled upon this blog entirely by accident and have started hanging out. Welcome to you, strangers! It’s time for a little tour of my neighborhood. Are you ready?

*Disclaimer: The words “unit,” “hook-ups,” and “mounted” are used in this article. If you are immature enough to find these giggle-inducing (like I am) then please… enjoy.*

In Las Vegas, I lived at Boulder Lakes RV Resort for several months. It has closed since then, but it was a very nice park, with several pools, a mixed-use clubhouse, and entryway that very much transitioned my mind from work to unwinding.

The place where I live now is short on amenities, but well-maintained and pleasantly inexpensive. It is just off of an interstate highway, and convenience seems to be more important than glitz here. The people are nice, the atmosphere is laid back, and Dapnhe and I love it. It is called The RiVer.

One of my favorite things about the RV lifestyle is that even the long-term residents of the park have a sort of vacation mentality that is not easy to employ when one has at least a thousand feet of interior, a whole lot of exterior, and a big old yard to maintain. The transient visitors are open and eager to meet fellow RVers; the rest of us form a regular neighborhood, except that we live closer to our next-doors than you do (unless you’re in one of those population density nightmares like the aforementioned Las Vegas, the middle of the Eastern Seaboard, the West Coast, Tokyo, etc.).

Welcome to The River! As we drive into the park, this is what meets our eyes. A long driveway to facilitate gargantuan travel trailers also serves as a tree-filled stress relaxer. Drink it in!

How about a game of horseshoes on the front lawn? Great! Um… do you… HAVE any?
Horseshoes, I mean? No? Well, then… *ahem* Moving on.

This park has its outer spaces reserved for monthly residents, and its pull-throughs reserved for visitors. What I love about residents is now they make a mobile domicile a home in unique and clever ways.

All of the sites here have electricity, water, and sewer hook-ups. If you’ve ever gone RVing, you know that sometimes it can be a challenge to line up your particular unit’s business end with the available meters. One good thing about knowing you’ll be around for a while is that you can problem solve this situation in a somewhat permanent manner.

“They don’t sell 30-foot flex pipe? Pshhh. Whate’er.”

Having barely escaped with our sweat glands intact the hottest summer on record, I can appreciate now what a battle with the elements living in a minimally-insulated motor home or travel trailer can be. My roof-mounted air conditioner was plenty chilly, but it ran constantly so that during the three warmest months, I paid about $100 to cool my home. (Believe me, $3.33 per day to stave off heatstroke was worth it.) Others have come up with work-arounds for the intense temperatures, though.

Several RVs have window units like this one.

Or this one. Or even this one, which is also impressive because it is self-supporting and part of an impressive apparent  do-it-yourself conversion.

Another alternative is to keep the warmth out in the first place. I love that our RV has so many windows, but if I forget to close the blinds, the glass becomes a heat portal.

This is something I’d not seen before: custom-sized solar screens that remove for travel and then can be snapped back into place. There is a shade business (coincidentally enough, a Las Vegas-based enterprise) van that frequents The RiVer . I might get an off-season estimate next time he’s here.

Since indoor accommodations are limited for all of us, most long-termers create outdoor living areas to enjoy, as well.

Even those in the biggest of motor homes can appreciate wide open spaces.

Dining al fresco! The wooden steps are a nice touch, too.
Just ask any of the mobility-impaired people who frequent my home and fall off of that last metal plate…

This just makes me feel like an underachiever. That is some nice work right there and it eliminates some tracking gravel into the car.

This is a fun mix of seasonal decor with stereotypical trailer park ornamentation.

Here is a really homey and functional outdoor space, from the chimnea to the smoker.

This is the side yard of our park hosts.

And this is my favorite. I adore the colors, and they also have some ceramic pigs and turtles holding down the Astroturf in the front.

Here is our backyard, or what Dapnhe and I call “The Jungle.”
Now that it has cooled off, it is wonderful to sit under the canopy…

Thank you for taking this community tour with us! I’d say you’re welcome to visit any time, but that applies to a limited number of readers. 😉 No offense, but we here at The RiVer don’t take kindly to stalkers… In fact, as I was taking these pictures, someone at the other end of the park called management to report that a lady with a camera was casing out the joint. Yep, it’s one for all and all for one here in a van down by the river…

