Today, and, to be honest, for several weeks, I was thinking about these S’mores Popcorn Balls I’d read about years ago in Family Fun magazine. When I made them and took them to an event, they were a huge hit. I’ve made them several times since then. I love popcorn balls, caramel corn, trail mix, Puppy Chow, and all of that sweet trash.

Thing is, I’ve done those and have this “thing” with moving on to the next amazing recipe. So I decided to experiment. Instead of using sugar to make a syrup and shaping the balls myself, I went the “Rice Krispies Treats” route and made the treat with marshmallows, butter, and packed it into a pan so I can cut it later.

The ingredients:

Four great tastes that taste great together, right? While I was mixing stuff, I remembered one other thing that I had and should also throw into the mixture:

These are available at Wal-Mart exclusively and will be gone after Halloween, so if you’re interested, go get ’em now! They aren’t candy corn-flavored; they’re just colored that way. They’re white chocolate M&Ms, and that’s how they taste.

Here’s the thing about my trying to share my ideas with you: very often, I can’t give you a precise recipe. I eyeball things like this, with varying levels of success.

The first thing I did was to pop a bag of microwave popcorn. Then I took about 2/3 that amount of Chee-tos Puffs and pinched each “puff” in half. When I’d mixed them in a bowl, it looked like this:

I went ahead and added the candy corn (Autumn Mix, but I pulled out the pumpkins) and M&Ms. If you don’t want to risk the candy melting, you can add them after you’ve mixed in the marshmallows.

Next, melt a bag of marshmallows (mine wasn’t whole; Daphne had sampled some of the marshmallows earlier) with six tablespoons of butter or margarine.

Finally, mix it all together and pour it into either an 8 x 12 pan or a couple of small pans (OR make popcorn balls, if you’re really ambitious… I have to meet a bunch of homeschool moms in fifteen minutes, so I was trying to use my time efficiently). When I did this, I found that the heavier candies had migrated to the bottom of the bowl. Hey, thanks, gravity! It ended up being okay, though, because I was able to press the M&Ms, candy corn, and smooshed crumbs of Chee-tos Puffs into the top of the popcorn treats. I mashed the tops down lightly with another pan. If you push down too hard, it will squish the air out of the treats, and no one wants that.

Here is the finished product… I’ll post more pictures when I cut them.

