Five months ago, my daughter, Daphne, and I moved into an RV park. Permanently. I love it when people ask me what my long-term plan is, as though this is just some tragic stopover in a misplanned life. This is it, baby. And we’re loving it.

We have lived here long enough that the novelty has worn off, long enough that we know it’s not the newness but the lifestyle that we enjoy. We’ve lived here long enough to make friends who have since moved on. We’ve lived here long enough to know how properly to flush the toilet so that the stuff doesn’t back up and have to be coaxed on with the “poop stick.” We’ve lived here long enough to get to know one of the managers, who just died of a heart attack. We’ve lived here long enough to survive the worst month of weather events (hail, tornadoes, severe windstorms) in recent history, and our travel trailer is still standing.

